Portrait Self

“Portrait self” is a woman I create in my artwork. She is an imaginary creature based on me but only distantly related.

I’ve only done a few self-portraits. They are mostly adapted from printed out selfies. I use my image as a model in the service of a composition or technique.

My portrait self doesn’t look like me to me. She gives up no clues, thoughts, or emotions. The portrait self is privileged and bereft of breath and the quaintness of hope.

My portrait self is an alternate me. She doesn’t live my life with its daily doubts and frustrations. She is frozen in time, a silent muse adorned and bedazzled, off at a distance.

Maybe I wish I were my portrait self; she seems stronger than I am.

All images © Heather Petersen 2020

Published by Heather Petersen

I’m an artist, writer, and editor living in the Pacific Northwest with my husband and a herd of kitties. I love surrealist art, electronic music, sci-fi, learning, cats, cheese, octopuses, old maps, spirals, and the color green.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started